Both CBD consumption and veganism are on the rise in the UK. People who only eat plants might therefore wonder: is CBD oil vegan?
The answer is, in most cases, yes! Let’s take a closer look at why CBD is vegan and vegetarian-friendly.
But first, it makes sense to outline what the definition of vegan is. Vegan products are:
- Free from edible animal products, such as milk and eggs
- Contain no other animal products, for example leather or fur
- Are not tested on animals
- Are produced in a cruelty-free way
Now let’s consider what this means when we are looking at CBD products.
What is CBD?
Some readers might be questioning what CBD is in the first place!
Cannabidiol, more commonly known as CBD, is a naturally-occurring compound derived from the hemp plant. Hemp itself is a cannabis plant with high levels of CBD and low THC (tetrahydrocannabinol).
THC is the chemical that results in the “high” that cannabis users feel when recreationally consuming it. CBD, on the other hand, does not get you high.
Since CBD comes from the hemp plant, it is by nature 100% vegan.
However, that does not necessarily mean that all products containing CBD are vegan. It is important to always check the ingredients list before buying a CBD product.
What are the benefits of CBD?
CBD is a pretty amazing substance. Part of the reason that it is now found in so many different types of product is that businesses and consumers are beginning to understand its many benefits.
What’s more, many governments and international institutions have also started to take CBD more seriously. For example, in 2018 the World Health Organization published a report stating:
In humans, CBD exhibits no effects indicative of any abuse or dependence potential…. To date, there is no evidence of public health-related problems associated with the use of pure CBD.
That one report significantly advanced the case for CBD worldwide.
CBD is legal in many countries, including the UK and many European countries. In most cases, it is subject to strict regulation. In the USA, the legality of CBD varies from state to state.
What cannot be denied is that CBD is on a positive path, heading away from criminalisation and toward full legality around the world.
That’s a good thing, since CBD is thought to help with so many issues, both medical and otherwise. CBD is commonly used to help treat the following:
In fact, in the UK, Epidyolex is prescribed by the NHS (National Health Service) to patients with some forms of epilepsy. The UK health system already recognises the vast potential of CBD. In the coming years, we should expect to see far more CBD-based medicines being used by doctors around the world.
How is CBD oil made?
CBD oil is made by extracting CBD from the hemp plant and then diluting it with a carrier oil such as hemp seed oil or coconut oil.
This process of using all-plant ingredients is common. That means it is fairly unlikely that you would find a non-vegan CBD oil. Nonetheless, it is best always to check.
How are other CBD products made?
This is where vegans and vegetarians need to be a bit more careful. There is a wide range of CBD products on the market, many of which do contain ingredients derived from animals.
These are chewy, sweet treats that are a tasty and easy way to consume CBD. But like other chewy sweets, they may contain gelatine, which is made from cows. Be sure to do your research and look out for vegan-friendly alternatives, which skip the gelatine and use plant products (like pectin) for the same chewy effect.
CBD capsules contain CBD oil within a casing. The outer shell, like the gummies, is sometimes made from gelatine, a cow product. Likewise, look out for vegan options that use plant-based alternatives.
With CBD soaring in popularity, it is now commonly found in all sorts of food products. Here are some popular examples:
- Milk chocolate
- Dark chocolate
- Sweets and candy
- …and much, much more.
You get the picture. There are a lot of CBD edibles out there. As you can imagine, many (if not most) are not vegan. Cakes and cookies in most cases are loaded with butter, for example.
The bottom line is that vegans and vegetarians should treat CBD products in the same way they do normal foods. Always check the ingredients and double-check with the producer if unsure!
Are BaldurCBD products vegan?
At BaldurCBD, all of our products are vegan- and vegetarian-friendly. That includes:
- BaldurCBD Oil
- BaldurCBD Gummies
- BaldurCBD Capsules
- BaldurCBD Heat Balm
- BaldurCBD Cool Balm
Our Heat Balm and Cool Balm are not, of course, edible! But they don’t contain animal product in any case.
All of BaldurCBD’s products are made to the highest standard and are cruelty-free. BaldurCBD is authorised by the Food Standards Agency, which is the UK food regulator.
We care about quality and we make our products the right way.
Check out our store here!